Z5 or SolarXtreme?

Sep 24, 2020 - 7:31 PM

• I am new to growing under lights and would like to start growing herbs especially mint plants and would like to know why i should purchase a Ledtonic Z5 LED grow light over a California Lighting SolarXtreme 250?
    Thanks for your feedback as this whole venture is quite overwhelming once i started researching online.

Andy

• Good question!

The market of grow lights is indeed a jungle and it can be tricky to understand and compare the vital metrics between different grow lamps.

I just read the product manual for the SolarXtreme series in their website. Is this by Californa Lightworks'?

Comparing our Z5 LED grow light to their SolarXtreme 250, there are a few things that differ.

First and foremost, their lamp draws 200 watts and our Z5 draws 112 watts.

Second, they say that their lamp covers a 3x3'/90x90cm area. Our Z5 is designed to cover a 2x2'/60x60cm area with high intensity, and 3x3'/90x90cm with medium intensity.

They say that their lamp produces:
    500 PPFD (Distance: 18)
    800 PPFD (Distance: 12
    )

Our Z5 lamp produces:
    630 PPFD (Distance: 18)
    911 PPFD (Distance: 12
    )

What differs with the two lamps is that our Z5 is fitted with a 120-degree focusing lenses that produces a more intense light footprint below the lamp and over a 2x2' area.

California Lightworks has shared two spot measures at two different heights. We, on the other hand, have measured our lamp at three different heights and with 36 spot measurements taken inside a 3x3'/90x90cm tent. We have no idea how the SX250's light intensity spreads since this information isn't shared, so that part is difficult to compare.

Smaller green plants like kitchen herbs and other leafy greens won't need very high intensities. It depends on the species, but generally, 150-300 PPFD is where you want to be at. This is achieved with the Z5 hanging at a height of 24"/60cm, almost completely covering 3x3' tent with the desired intensity.